How to reinstall macbook pro to factory settings

how to reinstall macbook pro to factory settings
Hold down Command and R at the same time right after you restart your Mac. You should erase your startup disk in the following circumstances:.

You could try restarting it in Safe Mode.

How to reset your Mac before selling it

Force restart your Mac, then press and hold the Shift key until you see the Apple logo. What do I do when it ask me to log into apple to re-download the OS? Isn't that going to defeat remove my data from my mac? Just leave it uninstalled.

how to reinstall macbook pro to factory settings

The new owner can download the operating system when they log into iTunes. You missed a step.

how to reinstall macbook pro to factory settings

In iTunes you need to deauthorize your computer, otherwise it counts towards the 5 computers that you can authorize. Once you hit the limit, you have to deauthorize all your computers and that can only be dome once a year. But deauthorizing a computer can be done at any time. You don't have to do so before you sell it. There should be a step 7. If you don't do this, your data can be recovered from the disk and used to steal your identity. So if I don't sign out of everything I will be automatically signed in again after the reinstall?

how to reinstall macbook pro to factory settings

You probably won't automatically be signed into everything, but this ensures you didn't accidentally stay connected to anything. Did all this down to reinstall MacOS. Getting error saying "no bag entry". I've already removed this mac from my Apple ID and removed it as a trusted device - now what?

How to reset a Mac to factory settings

You need the original software that came with the Mac. Is this an older model? If so, you'll need the original software disk. You can insert the software CD and hold down C to enter the installer screen.

Follow the instructions from there. Hi can anyone help? I have a Mac mini Midwhich I want to sell on. So I followed all instructions, but when I get to the Erase part I select the Journaled option, but then beneath that there is another option: Scheme, with 3 options: I tried to Erase and it failed. Do you have FileVault enabled? If so, disable it before trying to make changes to your hard drive. Iscasojust make sure you have internet available otherwise it can't check the eligibility of the Mac.

Now when I try to re-install the OS I get error messages saying that it can't reinstall because there is only one partition on the hard drive 1 TB and the OS can't install over itself. Any suggestions or help would be appreciated. It sounds like you have an operating system installed on your Mac. If it's the one that came with the Mac, it's fine to sell.

How To Factory/Hard Reset ANY Macbook To Original Settings WITHOUT Installation Disk! 2017 METHOD!

If it's one you've upgraded since you've owned it, you will have to uninstall the newer operating system and reinstall the copy that came with the Mac.

I am going to sell my Mac, so I don't want that signed in. I'm passing on a MacBookPro 17" Mid Is there a way to complete a Reset and have If that's not possible, can one do an a single upgrade from I've been advised at another site that macOS Sierra allows use of Recovery mode and should work as follows if I've incorrectly detailed the steps, please correct me: I would suggest you cancel the reinstallation of macOS Sierra, This would probably be a temporary problem, Just try and cancel the installation and wait a while.

Then just download it again: I just purchased a used Mac Pro which has had the start up disc erased, I was told by the seller that all I needed to do was reinstall a clean operating system and id be good to go.

how to reinstall macbook pro to factory settings

Unfortunately when i try to do this I get asked for my apple ID to log into the apple store to download the new OSX, when I enter the apple ID details I get the message ' this item is temporarily unavailable, please try again later'.

Need to make sure you enter same Apple ID and password that was used when you first purchased computer. Decide whether to erase your startup disk Decide whether to erase format your startup disk before installing macOS. You should erase your startup disk in the following circumstances: The macOS installer says that it can't install on your computer or volume. If you need to erase your startup disk, follow these steps: Select your device or volume in the sidebar of Disk Utility.

Click the Erase button or tab. Enter a name for your disk, such as "Macintosh HD". Click Erase to begin erasing your disk.

Browsing interrupted

To remove all your personal data, click 'Delete From Mac' on each popup although you'll be wiping the hard drive in the next step anyway.

If you have any iCloud files that were created on that Mac they will be archived into your home folder. The best-known way to enter Recovery Mode is to click the Apple logo at the top left of the screen and select Restart, then hold down the Command and R keys until you see an Apple logo or spinning globe. But you may be better off using a different key combination.

Read about the three different key combinations you can use to enter Recovery Mode, and the differences between them, here.

how to reinstall macbook pro to factory settings

Prior to High Sierra our advice here was to choose your main hard drive typically called Macintosh HD in the sidebar on the left - you're looking for the disk name, not the volume name indented underneath it. To wipe your hard drive, click the Erase button or open the Erase tab and click Erase.

how to reinstall macbook pro to factory settings

Note that this permanently erases all data on the hard drive so don't do this unless you've cloned the drive or are happy to never access anything on that drive again. If you are running High Sierra when you look at your Macintosh HD you will see all the Macs you have connected to your Apple ID - so beware, you don't want to erase the content of any other Macs you own.

how to reinstall macbook pro to factory settings

We will hold off giving advice on what to do here until we know for sure what will happen if you click delete! The following articles may be useful: Not Helpful 0 Helpful 2.

how to reinstall macbook pro to factory settings

What do I do if it is asking for my AppleID and password? You will need to enter your AppleID and password. If you don't have one, you should make one! There are a lot of perks to having an Apple ID.

Not Helpful 0 Helpful 0.


You will meet Exotic Russian Brides after Free Registration!

First Name
Email